760.944.6769 [email protected]


Qualified medical evaluators (QMEs) are qualified physicians who are certified by the Division of Workers’ Compensation – Medical Unit to examine injured workers to evaluate disability and write medical-legal reports. The reports are used to determine an injured worker’s eligibility for workers’ compensation benefits. QMEs include medical doctors, doctors of osteopathy, doctors of chiropractic, dentists, optometrists, podiatrists, psychologists and acupuncturists.

To become a QME, you must meet the requirements that are listed in Labor Code section 139.2. If you meet these requirements, you should submit a completed application form to the Division of Workers’ Compensation Medical Unit. You also must submit a test registration form.

Prior to becoming a QME you have to pass the QME competency exam. Tests are scheduled twice a year in April and October. Upon passing the test and paying the QME annual fee, you will be a certified QME. (Labor Code § 139.2(b) (n), 8 CCR § 10). Prior to appointment as a QME, a physician is required to take a 12-hour course about writing medical legal reports. (8 CCR § 11.5)

See also…

Ready to Get Credits?

What Material is Available?

“Excellent course. my compliments! Well written, informative and easy to read. Probably the best QME CME I have taken over the years! Keep up the good work.”
Dr. Ali Soozani